DIY bathroom cupboard shelf

The bathroom cupboard in our master bedroom was basically a waste of space so I added a shelf in it to use up the rest of the space. I went with the “assembly required” bookshelf motif for my shelf since I had a bunch of shelf clips left over from our bookcases. This meant drilling a teeny hole into the cupboard under the sink but not THROUGH it. To achieve this I set the torque on the drill at 8 and the speed at low. I also tied a string around the drill bit at the maximum distance that it could enter the wood.

string tied on drill bit to indicate length of hole for shelf holder clip

string tied on drill bit to indicate length of hole for shelf holder clip


I measured the length of the cupboard and cut it out of a pine board that I bought for $6.80. Now, if you use the clip in the above photo you will have to cut your board smaller than you measured in order to fit. I switched to plain ol’ straight bookshelf clips
bookshelf clip

bookshelf clip


Now I have an extra shelf that I will eventually put most of my makeup on.
diy bathroom cupboard shelf

diy bathroom cupboard shelf

Leave a Reply

