Organize computer cords

I had given our computer cords a temporary home in a plain cardboard box until I could get something prettier for them.

cords before

cords before

The box made it easy to lift the whole tangled mess and vacuum underneath it. What I was looking for was a decorated cardboard box or hat box from the dollar store to coral the cords. I didn’t find one.

This morning, on my continued quest for that pretty box, I discovered that only Rona’s was open at the same hour that I was up. I found a $6 plastic box that was the right size for a power bar and a $6 can of spray paint, specific for plastic. I made the two meet.

a nice, sand-white, spray painted plastic storage box

a nice, sand-white, spray painted plastic storage box

I also had to buy a $5 drill bit, 1 and 1/8 inches in diameter, to put a hole in two sides of the box; one for the power cords and another for the router cords.
organize computer cords

organize computer cords

I tucked all the cords inside and fit the lid on so no dust would get into the box and so the whole affair was hidden.

Now I have the same ease for vacuuming but the added bonus of the colour being right for the decor and all the cords being covered.

Leave a Reply

