Reuse leggins into headbands

My daughter had a pair of black leggins that got a few too many holes in a sensitive area to be repaired so I began wracking my brains for something else to make with them. Leg warmers was the obvious choice but we’re heading into summer so she wouldn’t be wearing them.

The material is thick and stretchy, the perfect thing for a headband. I cut the legs into strips, sewed three of them together across the top, pinned it to my pencil holder at the top of my scrapbook table and braided away. Then I gave it a bit of a pull and wrapped it around her head. When we found the perfect blend of comfortable and secure I safety pinned the ends together, overlapped them for about 2 inches and sewed them together.

reuse leggins into headband

reuse leggins into headband

the original hole-y leggings

the original hole-y leggings

As many same length strips as possible

As many same length strips as possible

sew three together

sew three together

pin to something solid and braid

pin to something solid and braid

Leave a Reply

