Organize and Decorate bedroom dresser

There is no need to bother with a “before” picture, it sucked. We moved in, I put stuff wherever and voilà, cluttered dresser.

Now I’ve had some time and a bottle of Martha Stewart vintage decor paint in antique sky ($9 with coupon vs $16). I used a foam brush (I had a bag of them from somewhere) and I’ll never use a bristle brush again.  The foam gives the most even and uniform application ever.  I’ve also rounded up some bottles and containers to use said paint on and voilà, beautiful, grown up dresser.

Jewellery storage

Jewellery storage

One empty wine bottle, one empty beer bottle and one empty coffee can. I soaked and peeled the label off the beer bottle and buy then it would have been cheaper to just buy a jewellery stand- but not as pretty. I didn’t bother removing the label from the wine bottle and it turned out ok.  The ribbon came from a box of chocolates Hubby bought me.  I sort of wove it around the bottles to hold them in place.  The two bottles are for my bracelets and the can is for bulky necklaces.

jewellery storage

jewellery storage

This was an Illy coffee can that I painted.  I tore a strip off a large white cotton sheet that I use for multiple sewing projects and stuffed it in the can so the jewellery would be near the top.  I put my bulky necklaces in here.

store jewellery in shallow crochet basket

store jewellery in shallow crochet basket

reuse bowl to hold hook earrings

reuse bowl to hold hook earrings

reuse plate to hold beauty tools

reuse plate to hold beauty tools

makeup brush storage

makeup brush storage

I found a Tupperware drink container with no lid and painted it. I filled it with rice and shoved all the makeup brushes in it. For the shorter brushes I put a Dixie cup inside another and painted the outside, then tied it to the larger Tupperware with a nice ribbon.

display makeup palette

display makeup palette

I put my eye shadow palette on a small wooden easel used for plates.

jewellery storage

jewellery storage

This was a little nail and screw organizer for the tool room but I have something better for that in the garage so that left this piece homeless.  I painted the outside and wanted to pain the drawers but they wouldn’t have fit back into their little slots if I’d done that so I lined them with pretty scrapbook paper.

organize and decorate bedroom dresser

organize and decorate bedroom dresser

PS- about the paint.  It says it takes 2 hours to dry between coats, not on glass it doesn’t.  The glass bottles required 4 coats, the paper Dixie cup 2 coats, the plastic brush holder 3 coats and the coffee can 3 coats.  You’re best off waiting 4 hours between coats although 6 would be better.  Otherwise the new coat strips off the one underneath and you have to start over.

4 responses

Leave a Reply

