Crochet water bottle carrier free pattern

With spring approaching outdoor activities approach too. This year, I’M NOT CARRYING EVERYTHING IN MY PURSE. The heaviest items are the water bottles so I bought 2 kid sized bottles and now I’m crocheting little bottle purses for the kids.

Here’s the pattern I based my project on: http://vallieskids.blogspot.ca/2009/05/16oz.html

There were a few glitches in the pattern so I re-wrote parts of it and added a strap of my own invention.

She used a G hook, but I used a K {6.50 mm} to get the right size for my bottle. I used Bernat handicrafter yarn and one bottle carrier will use one ball of yarn. The water bottle is 6 in tall and 2.5 in in diameter.

Rnd 1) Ch 2. 10 double crochet in 2nd ch from hook, slip st to first double crochet.
Rnd 2) Ch 2 (this did not count as my first double crochet). 2 double crochet in next st and each st around, sl to first double crochet
Rnd 3) Ch 2, double crochet in same st, *2 double crochet in next st, double crochet in next st* rep *to* around, sl st to first dc

Rnd 4) Ch1, sc in same st. *sc in each back loop* rep *to* around, sl to first sc

Rnd 5) Ch 1, sc in same st, *ch2, skip next st, sc in next st*, rep *to* around.
Rnd 6-22 or however tall you need to make your bottle carrier. It’s best to measure this with a full water bottle since the crochet will stretch a bit.) You may want to put a row marker here. I didn’t. * ch2, sc in next ch2 space, repeat from * around.
Rnd 23) Ch1, *sc in each sc and ea ch2 space* rep *to* around,
Rnd 24-25) Ch1, *sc in ea sc* around. End with sl st but do not fasten off.

Strap
Row 1: Ch 1, turn. Sc in next 6 sc.
Row 2: Ch 4, turn. Trc in 2nd sc from hook, ch 1, trc in 2nd sc fr hook, ch 1, trc in 2nd ch fr hook.
Row 3: Ch 4, turn. Trc in ch-1 space, ch1, trc in ch-1 sp, ch 1, trc in ch-1 sp.

Repeat Row 3 until strap measures desired length.

Finish
Sc strap end to bottle holder. Weave in ends.

crochet water bottle carrier

crochet water bottle carrier

The water bottle is full so you can see the full effect of the stretch.

I chose to make a netting like strap because I didn’t want a solid one that my kids would sweat under.

Leave a Reply

