DIY homework sorting file box

There’s a small countertop in our kitchen that seems to have been put in as an afterthought. I’m fine with that, I’ll take all the extra storage I can get since I hate Hubby’s method of leaving everything on the counters. But this counter is just too far away from the main appliances to be of any use for cooking so I use it to sort through the massive amounts of artwork and homework the kids bring home from school every day. I also keep the pens, moisturizer and multi-head screwdriver here.

Here’s what I did to organize all that.

1 cut off 1L cream carton covered in nice paper
1 cut off 2L milk carton covered in nice paper
1 Cheerios box cut into magazine holder shape and covered in nice paper

The pictures explain it much better.

before

before

cut

cut

measure each side, subtract 1/8 inch, cut paper and glue

measure each side, subtract 1/8 inch, cut paper and glue

After.  You can see the two milk carton/pencil holders here too.

After. You can see the two milk carton/pencil holders here too.


Oh yes, I put 2 command hooks on the side for the kids’ lunch boxes.

One response

Leave a Reply

