Lego Digital Designer

Due to the “hundred millions of Lego” that we have here, Hubby and I discovered http://ldd.lego.com/en-us/ which is an online way to design and build your own Lego creations. Or you can browse the gallery archive for patterns, such as Thomas the Train.

http://ldd.lego.com/en-us/gallery/archive

Type “Thomas” in creation name and select your model to download. I made the 5th one from the left, top row, first page.

My guess would be that I had 50% of the pieces that the pattern called for and totally improvised the rest by running up the stairs to my son’s room then down to the basement to the playroom. It took a few days to make Thomas this way but it was totally worth it for all the joy Thomas brings my son. He had to make a few adjustments to Thomas, for instance, putting windows on the cab so the driver could see out, making the funnel all one piece and adding a lantern so Thomas could see.

My son let me draw on his Lego piece (cardinal sin otherwise) because I showed him that rubbing alcohol will remove permanent marker.

My son let me draw on his Lego piece (cardinal sin otherwise) because I showed him that rubbing alcohol will remove permanent marker.

Lego Thomas

thomas front

Didn't have enough square single pieces so used round ones.  Artfully.

Didn’t have enough square single pieces so used round ones. Artfully.

I had no train wheels or train sets to draw on so Thomas' carriage is totally improvised.  The front buffer is a "holey" blue piece with a flat single piece pressed into the holes to hold the buffer button pieces.

I had no train wheels or train sets to draw on so Thomas’ carriage is totally improvised. The front buffer is a “holey” blue piece with a flat single piece pressed into the holes to hold the buffer button pieces.

Today I’m making a princess castle for my daughter, as per her request. She’s already made a giant, poufy dress out of Lego for her princess.

Leave a Reply

