Rope twist braids

When we were kids, my sister had a Pocahontas doll with a styling attachment that twisted her hair into these lovely plaits. I thought they’d be a good idea for my daughter’s hair so off to youtube.

I did not do the zig zag part thing (HA HA HA, the very thought of attempting that!) Since this was my first time doing this I made a plain one on the side of her head, and then another. Then I decided to try the “gathering up into the twist” on the other side and that wasn’t any harder to do and it makes a sort of crown around her head, taking her hair far away from her face. I heavily wet her hair before starting to keep all the hairs in one place.

two rope twist braids down the side

two rope twist braids down the side

French rope twist braid around the side of the head

French rope twist braid around the side of the head

The secret is “turn right, twist left”.

2 responses

Leave a Reply

