DIY self-watering flower pot free instructions

Through complete incompetence and neglect, some of my petunias went to seed this summer past. I thought that was the dandiest thing and I collected the seeds (which as it turns out are TINY). I figured I’d try planting them since all those flowers at the greenhouse have to start somehow.

I saw a self-watering windowsill herb set up on Pinterest http://www.designsponge.com/2010/05/we-like-it-wild-bottle-gardens.html and decided to try the same thing myself and grow petunias indoors in the winter.

I drew some flowers at the top since they're only seeds at this point

I drew some flowers at the top since they’re only seeds at this point

I used a plastic drink bottle that Hubby had bought for work one day and cut the top off near the stem. The top has to fit inside the bottom without touching the bottom. I also punched a large nail through the cap for the self watering cotton string later.

plastic drink bottle cut, lid punctured, ready for paint

plastic drink bottle cut, lid punctured, ready for paint

Then I painted the bottle with some of the pink paint I’d bought to redo my laundry room. I used the very easy method of dipping each piece into the paint can then setting it in the plastic top of a store-bought muffin container to drip dry. The muffin top had two support pillars that I set the bottle halves on so they wouldn’t topple over.

after paint dip, drip and dry

after paint dip, drip and dry

the finished parts ready for assembly

the finished parts ready for assembly

Once dry I folded a piece of cotton string in half and tied a knot at the top so it wouldn’t slip through the hole in the bottle cap. I threaded it through the hole so the two “legs” would dangle into the water of the larger cup piece. I then put the cap back on the bottle neck and turned the thing upside down into the larger bottom cup.

how to tie the cotton string inside the bottle cap

how to tie the cotton string inside the bottle cap

I filled the top stem part with dirt and planted my seeds. I filled the bottom part almost 1/2 full with water and set the top part inside. I put the whole thing on our bedroom windowsill and we’ll see what happens.

water in the bottom, string will suck up the water into the top part with the dirt and seeds

water in the bottom, string will suck up the water into the top part with the dirt and seeds

2 responses

Leave a Reply

