Laundry room upgrade in rented house

That means I can only paint the little things.
After

the laundry room is where bold colours need to reign!

the laundry room is where bold colours need to reign!

I did have to buy some things for this project, paint mostly.
Key Lime Green spray paint, 2 can $12
Pink paint, 1 pint $18
Paint sponge-brushes, 8 $7
3M hooks, 8 $9
TOTAL $46

Things I already owned

Two wicker baskets serving no useful purpose
Large round dollar store bucket to corral my laundry soaps
Ugly square basket that came with the previous house we owned
Peanut butter jar for my soap works dry bleach powder
Empty lid off a liquid laundry detergent bottle to store tbsp to scoop bleach powder when necessary
Yellow tbsp my son found in a park one day to scoop bleach powder when necessary
Empty coffee can for homemade laundry soap
Blue dollar store garbage can

The kids have wrecked all my paint brushes so I had to replenish the supply and decided to try sponge brushes this time. It doesn’t splatter and it’s very handy to paint containers that have lips around them. It gives a very even application that doesn’t drip.

This is an all day project because you have to put 4 coats of paint on everything; 2 on the inside, 2 on the outside. That’s why I like spray paint but they didn’t have any in pink so I had to buy paintbrush paint AT 3 TIMES THE PRICE.
Before

a bassinet tray from the top of a play pen for storage and a pile of soap stuff on the dryer

a bassinet tray from the top of a play pen for storage and a pile of soap stuff on the dryer

How’d I do it

soak the label off a pink, sidewalk chalk bucket (no need to paint)

soak the label off a pink, sidewalk chalk bucket (no need to paint)

the bottle I use for my homemade hair treatment

the bottle I use for my homemade hair treatment

baskets I had, I removed the handles from the brown one

baskets I had, I removed the handles from the brown one

I turned the baskets upside down on empty boxes to spray paint them outside

I turned the baskets upside down on empty boxes to spray paint them outside

laundry room sink BEFOREI used bleach 50:50 with water to de-stain the laundry sink.

under the sink are my soap making supplies.  Notice the now pink hair treatment bottle.

under the sink are my soap making supplies. Notice the now pink hair treatment bottle.

2 hooks behind the door for my hair towel, fly swatter, backup hand towel for basement bathroom and delicates wash bag

2 hooks behind the door for my hair towel, fly swatter, backup hand towel for basement bathroom and delicates wash bag

The laundry room door is always open so you’ll never see what’s stored behind the door.

Next up, must crochet a pink doily for the top of the dryer.

Leave a Reply

