A quick little Santi Claus hat free pattern

and the coat comes later.

knit hat for the Grinch, free pattern

knit hat for the Grinch, free pattern

I found this Grinch doll while I was on vacation in a wonderful but expensive little toy shop. My kids both love the Grinch (and so do I) and I knew I could knit him a “quick little Santi Claus hat and a coat”. So far I’ve got the hat.

Grinch Hat Pattern

4 mm knitting needles, white and red yarn

Cast on 40 sts with white
K 2 rows
Switch to red yarn
K 1 row
P 1 row
(K 8, K2 tog) to end of row
P 1 row
(K 7, K2 tog) to end of row
P 1 row
(K 6, K2 tog) to end of row
P 1 row
(K 5, K2 tog) to end of row
P 1 row
(K 4, K2 tog) to end of row
P 1 row
(K 3, K2 tog) to end of row
P 1 row
(K 2, K2 tog) to end of row
P 1 row
(K 1, K2 tog) to end of row
St st 4 rows
Cast off
Sew edges of hat together and voilà!

Eventually I’ll add a wee little white pom pom to the top of the hat but right now I’m trying to figure out a coat pattern. So far, not so good. But I will prevail!

See copyright in sidebar.

Leave a Reply

