Christmas gifts 2013

I sing Christmas carols all year long, but I will wait until December to start with the tinsel. Although we had our fist snowfall yesterday so maybe I can start early this year… Still, I’ll wait until after Remembrance Day to give our veterans and soldiers the respect they deserve.

support your own community

support your own community

I love the Christmas season and as far as I’m concerned, winter should be over after that. I’ve got Mary, Joseph and Baby Jesus for my Nativity and I plan on knitting the three Wise Men (I have a pattern for some very colourful Kings) some time this decade. The Shepherds are on their own for a while.

Giving Local for Christmas

-gift certificate to hair cut salon

-gift certificate to have car detailed

-hire a student for a month of driveway shoveling or lawn mowing

-hire a cleaning lady for a week

-gift certificate for car oil change

-buy treats at the local bakery to give to neighbours and teachers

-Leave the mailman, trash guy or babysitter a nice BIG tip (this is when the Avon lady can come in handy, get 10 chap sticks or shower gels for $10 and give them to every secretary you can think of).

This is a poem on a tea towel in a store where I worked 12 years ago

God bless these dirty dishes, they have a tale to tell
While other folks go hungry, they prove that we are eating well.
With home, health, and happiness,
I shouldn’t want to fuss;
By the stack of evidence,
God’s been very good to us.

So, Dear Lord, thank you for our wonderful, blessed life and send patience to sustain me. Please hurry. Amen

3 responses

Leave a Reply

