DIY decorated hand towel from disintegrating bath towel

We have (had) a very old bath towel that was shredding along the sides beyond the ability of a serge foot to fix. We only have 2 hand towels so I decided to turn the offending bath towel into a hand towel.

resize bath towel to hand towel

resize bath towel to hand towel

I took a hand towel and laid it over the larger towel to get an idea of the appropriate size. I cut, forgetting to leave a seam allowance along the bottom, but no big deal.
cut old towel to new size

cut old towel to new size

I folder over each raw edge with the idea that it would be 1/4 inch, but it turned into 1/2 inch. I ironed it in place then used a tight zig zag stitch to sew over the raw edge.
this is the back side of the new hand towel

this is the back side of the new hand towel

I added a blue ribbon along the bottom of my new towel with Stitch Witchery tape and an iron since sewing that sucker on would have been the bane of my existence for the day.

Leave a Reply

