Reuse children’s clothes – long sleeve to short sleeve

The cuffs on one of my son’s favourite shirts were coming apart so I cut them off. Be sure to cut in line with the design of the sleeve.

cut off cuff of long sleeved shirt

cut off cuff of long sleeved shirt

Then I remembered that boys don’t wear 3/4 length sleeves so I cut again, at that red line, to make a tee shirt.
iron to form an edge

iron to form an edge

Turn shirt inside out.

Fold over about an inch of fabric and iron the edge in place. Then fold the cut end into to ironed edge right along the middle (red line). Then you’ll sew this shut.

new tee shirt

new tee shirt

The brown fabric is supposed to peek out but even though I had the right colour thread, I don’t have the same stitch that they used on my machine. So I stuck the brown all the way in and sewed it in place with a straight stitch over the stitching that was already in place.

Leave a Reply

