How to make a paper covered clothes hanger free template

a 12x12 scrapbook sheet is enough to cover the front

a 12×12 scrapbook sheet is enough to cover the front

It all started when I found this covered hanger left in one of our closets:
my inspiration

my inspiration

I tried to use my letter opener to cut through the glue so I could use this as a template, but it was too old and just disintegrated. So I designed my own template.
leave one inch of paper at the top to fold over and tape in place

leave one inch of paper at the top to fold over and tape in place

free template

free template

I’ve moved the hanger so you can see the lines, but the red outline on the left is the exact size of the hanger. I’ve only cut an inch extra on the right side and this will be the side I fold down over the hanger and glue into place to cover it.
use strong double sided tape

use strong double sided tape

cut slits in the paper at the bends to make a straight fold over

cut slits in the paper at the bends to make a straight fold over

It turns out that a 12×12 piece of scrapbook paper isn’t exactly sufficient to cover a metal clothes hanger, at least from them back.
a 12x12 scrapbook sheet doesn't quite cover the back

a 12×12 scrapbook sheet doesn’t quite cover the back

a 12x12 scrapbook sheet is enough to cover the front

a 12×12 scrapbook sheet is enough to cover the front

But it looks lovely from the front.

Leave a Reply

