Riding hood scarf free pattern

In my internet searchings, I came across this.

riding hood scarf

riding hood scarf

I thought, hmm, hood and scarf in one, and in blue, my son’s favourite colour, perfect! He is VERY sensitive to cold, feels it more acutely than the rest of us and loves the feeling of being bundled up. If only this riding hood were of a snugger fit, he’d be happy.

Of course there are no free patterns for something like this. Not a problem. Almost 2 decades ago I owned a hand-woven woolen winter coat. It was wonderful except for one thing, the neck was very large and exposed. I knit myself a HUGE, thick scarf to wrap around my neck many times and keep out the winter drafts.

turn a long scarf into a riding hood scarf

turn a long scarf into a riding hood scarf

I would sew this scarf shut and into a snug, riding hood or robin hood (if you’re googling) scarf for my son.

I put the thing on his head at the middle, then took the left side of the scarf, wrapped it around his neck to the right, then around the back of his head and marked in chalk where I would have to sew it to the middle of the scarf to create a hood shape.

It’s way simpler than I’m making it sound.

create your own hood in a long scarf

create your own hood in a long scarf

Then I took the right side piece of scarf and wrapped it the other way (to the left) around his hood and sewed it into place. I sewed the scarf all the way to each end so nothing dangles.

When I was done I put a light blue blanket stitch border around the opening for the face so we’d all know which end was the front of the thing when we put it on him.

blanket stitch added around face opening so we'd know which way is front

blanket stitch added around face opening so we’d know which way is front

Leave a Reply

