Small Knit purse free pattern

i made this for my 3.75 year old daughter and her new lipgloss

i made this for my 3.75 year old daughter and her new lipgloss


Not quite sure I can copyright this pattern since I took the pattern for the flap from my big book of knitting patterns (The Knitting Dictionary by Rhoda Ochser Goldberg). I would ask that you give me credit for the dimensions and put together and link back to this blog. Please don’t use this pattern to make purses to sell.

The Flap
Using 4.5 mm needles, cast on 26 sts. I used a double yarn of sorts, the purple yarn entwined with a very, very thin crochet yarn I will never use because I can’t work that small. It adds a certain je ne sais quoi to the purple yarn though.
EYELET LACE BORDER PATTERN, knit these 4 rows 7 times.
Row 1: P
Row 2: P
Row 3: P
Row 4: (Yo, sl 1, K1, psso) rep to end.

Row 29-34: P

If you’re trying to knit this seemingly simple pattern while the kids are hanging off you giving you the play by play of “The Incredibles” then I would advise you to chant the last line out loud: “Yarn, slip, knit, pass. Yarn, slip, knit, pass. etc”

Purse Pattern
Row 1: K1, (K5, P1) to last st, K1
Row 2-6: beg P row, st st 5 rows (end P row)
Row 7: K3, P1 (K5, P1) to last 4 sts, K4 sts.
Row 8-12: beg P row, st st 5 rows (end P row)

Repeat these 12 rows another 4 times
Seed st (K1, P1, then on next row K the K sts and P the P sts) 5 rows.
Cast off K wise. Sew sides together.

Handle
I wanted a strong, double layer, seamless handle, made up this pattern myself so it’s copyrighted Anna Merlini.
If this is your first kick at the can of this pattern, then you probably don’t want to be trying to do it with a double yarn.
1ST PIECE
Using 4.5 mm needles, cast on 5 sts.
St st until piece is desired length but slip the first st of every row.
Cast off K wise

2ND PIECE
I couldn’t keep up with the st st, so this is just garter stitch.
Cast on 5 sts.
K every row but K2 tog at beg and end of row with the slipped stitch of the first piece.
Cast off and attach ends to purse.

The purse is roughly 8 inches long and 6 inches high.

Leave a Reply

