DIY Thomas the Train Washdown Shed free pattern

doorway is 1X3 inches in order to fit snuggly

doorway is 1X3 inches in order to fit snuggly

I had my son look at pictures of the Island of Sodor’s washdown shed to pick which one he liked best, then I did my best for us to make one.

I left the original side tabs on the box in place and reinforced them with clear tape. The doorway is cut 1 inch wide, 3 inches high. This makes it fit really snuggly over the wooden tracks but I thought that was a good thing because it’ll fall down less.

I asked my son to cut rectangles out of a rag dish towel and I glued them into the box with a hot glue gun. I poked a hole through the top with a nail and glued a nut there. The barrel will pour the water through the hole and the rags scrub the engines as they go through the washdown shed.

how to make your own engine washdown shed

how to make your own engine washdown shed

Leave a Reply

