How to make a clothespin apron from an old apron

I saw this http://mybyrdhouse.blogspot.ca/2007/06/june-clothspin-apron.html

also called a granny apron

also called a granny apron

and I thought, “this would be great for hauling my clippers and pruners from one end of the yard to the other, or to cart toys from upstairs to downstairs (or vice versa).

The only problem (for me, probably not for you) is that this pattern is too involved for me. I could do it, but in the time and expense it would take me to get it done, I could have accomplished so so much else. Have no fear, I have invented a solution.

My kids have a dress-up trunk and in it is a raggedy old apron that is flimsy and poorly made. I shall convert it.

reuse old apron

reuse old apron

I folded the sides in to a
trapezoid shape apron

trapezoid shape apron

trapezoid shape, then folded in almost in half so I’d have a giant pocket to stuff things in.
update an apron

update an apron

I sewed in a little bit to prevent the contents from spilling out as I walk.

sew sides in a bit to contain contents

sew sides in a bit to contain contents

I had to fiddle a bit with the original pockets to do this but on my honour, it’s dummy proof.

Here’s my new “pick it up and cart it around” apron. I’ve got my hand positioned at the opening of the big pocket so you can see what I meant be sewing the sides in a little bit to contain contents.

clothespin apron aka granny apron

clothespin apron aka granny apron

Leave a Reply

