Knit scraps of yarn snakes free pattern

they're about 7.5 inches long, including the tongue.

they’re about 7.5 inches long, including the tongue.


With all the basket, boxes and bags I’ve been making, I’ve got quite a few wee balls of yarn scraps left over that I wanted to use up in a practical project. I saw a beautiful crochet gecko on one of the blogs I follow (sorry, can’t remember which) and thought I would very much like to make that toy. But the pattern was too involved for me so I settled on “snake”.

I invented this pattern entirely by myself so the copyright is mine, Anna Merlini. Feel free to use the pattern to make your own snakes as long as you give me credit for it and link to this blog. You can’t use the pattern to make snakes to sell.

Because I love patterns with the least amount of assembly required, I started the snake at the tail in an I-cord.

Pattern for Scrap of yarn Snake
Using 3.25mm double pointed needles cast on 5 sts. Work an I-cord for 2.75 inches.
(K1, inc K wise in next st) 2 times, K1. 7 sts.
Work in st st now for 2 inches.
(K1, inc K wise in next st)3 times, K1. 10 sts.
Work in st st for 2 inches, end P row.
K 2 tog to end, 5 sts. Go back to I-cord knitting.
Knit one row.
(K2 tog) twice, K1. 3 sts. B&T tightly.

Turn snake over and put stuffing in open belly. Sew it shut with right side out.

you're only stuffing the non I-cord portions.

you’re only stuffing the non I-cord portions.

Using dark yarn, add 2 eyes and run the yarn out of the mouth, cutting it to tongue length. Weave in ends.

Leave a Reply

