Organize kids’ school (art)work – the One Box Rule

One box. That’s the rule. One box, one folder per year, per kid, from daycare to grade 12.

The reason for this is very simple; you’ll look at it.

If you keep everything, or just a lot, there will be so much that you’ll blow a fuse in your brain and never look at it again, only too happy to pass it all along to your kid when he/she moves out for college.

My daughter will be starting preschool next month and my son will be in kindergarten so for now I can fit all of their stuff in one box. When they start getting more years under their belts I’ll buy a second box for my daughter.

Up until now I had been filing my son’s things in an empty box, not a terrible system but this is one of those things you spend the money on. I bought a bomb resistant box and hanging legal size folders with labels from Staples. Blue folders for my son, purple for my daughter. Today’s morning project was to turn the box of stuff into two slim folders of stuff.

It’s not that hard actually.

Art and work from one daycare and 2 preschools (we moved in Jan of this year).

Art and work from one daycare and 2 preschools (we moved in Jan of this year).

Dang it, the text I added onto the photos isn’t large enough to see. It says “This pile was in this box and will be downsized to these two folders.”

I kept a few notes from teachers describing his character and the things he liked to do. I kept a few pieces of artwork that showed his talents and interests, and I kept a few pieces of alphabet/math work to show how smart he is already.

One folder for the daycare, one folder for the 2 preschools.

One folder for the daycare, one folder for the 2 preschools.

See the 2 slim blue folders at the front of the box? That’s all I needed to keep. The box that had been storing the paperwork now holds the paper garbage.

Leave a Reply

