Crochet covered jar for hair brush free pattern

I did a drawstring but there might be a better way.

I did a drawstring but there might be a better way.

There must be better patterns out there in Internet Land, but it never occurred to me to look because I didn’t think I would need help with this mini project. This is the pattern I designed; as it were; because I thought it couldn’t be that hard. Turns out that it just might be that hard. Or medium hard.

I was scouring the Tupperware cupboard and found a glass jar but, “gasp”, no lid. That means trash can, or does it have to? Mostly yes, but in this case someone in the household needed a container for her combs and brushes. She is actually the only person in this household with hair of any length and by golly does she like to style it. AT THE AGE OF 3.5!!!!!

So I figured that I’d make her something sparkly to hold some of her hair implements. Believe me, there are a bunch of those containers (see posts on pretty paper boxes and crochet baskets).

PATTERN

Ch 4. Join with sl st to first ch to form a ring.
Rnd 1: Ch 2 (counts as first hdc now and throughout), 11 hdc in ring. Join. (12 hdc)
Rnd 2: Ch 2, hdc in same st, 2 hdc in each st around. Join. (24 hdc)
Rnd 3: Ch 2, *2 hdc in next st, hdc in next st*, repeat from * to * around. Join. (36 hdc)
Rnd 4: Ch 2, hdc in next st, *2 hdc in next st, hdc in next two stitches*, repeat from * to * around. Join. (48 hdc)
Rnd 5: Ch 2. Working in FRONT LOOPS ONLY, hdc in each st around. Join.
Rnd 6. Ch 2. Working through BOTH loops, hdc in each st around. Join.
Remaining rounds: hdc in ea hdc around (no joining) until you reach the neck of the jar.

I'm covering the jar in hdc, kind of like the crochet baskets, only taller and without handles.

I’m covering the jar in hdc, kind of like the crochet baskets, only taller and without handles.

Decrease for neck
Special stitch
sc2tog = Insert hook into st and draw up a loop. Insert hook into next st and draw up a loop. Yarn over, draw through all 3 loops on hook.

(hdc in first 6 hdc, sc2 tog) 6 times. 42 hdc
Next round, hdc in each hdc around.
(hdc in first 5 hdc, sc2 tog) 6 times. 36 hdc.
hdc in ea hdc around for 2 rows. Finish last row with 4 sl st. Fasten off with long tail. Thread tail through back loop only and pull tight like a drawstring. Tie a cute little bow and insert comb, brush, etc.

decrease # of hdc for neck of glass jar

decrease # of hdc for neck of glass jar

The yarn has a sparkly vein in it, it just didn’t show up in the pictures. I really suck at taking artful pictures. Oh, well, I accept it as one of those things that is going to be a weakness of mine. Like singing. And it’ll stay that way because it’s under the median of my List so it’ll be a few years until I work on it.

Leave a Reply

