Mark Avon Lipclick reviewed, esp Tutu, Gem, Toasty & Sweetie Pie

Personal experience swatches

Sweetie Pie

mark lipclick sweetie pie swatch

mark lipclick sweetie pie swatch

This is exactly what it looks like. Thank you to Bailey, her blog address is on the picture.

Since I’m old enough to have a belly that says “I’ve had kids”, this is not an age appropriate colour for me. Also it is a little bit too much on the pink side.

Tutu

lightbulb light but a good representation. no sparkles, just a reflection of the flash.

lightbulb light but a good representation. no sparkles, just a reflection of the flash.

mark lipclick tutu tube swatch.  It looks like it has sparkles but it doesn't, that's just from the flash.

mark lipclick tutu tube swatch. It looks like it has sparkles but it doesn’t, that’s just from the flash.

Now this is a colour for me; not red but not grape either. It’s got a wine undertone to a subdued red. What you see on the tube is what will go on your lips.

Gem

mark lipclick gem swatch

mark lipclick gem swatch

mark lipclick gem tube swatch

mark lipclick gem tube swatch

This is an excellent everyday colour for me, hint of copper in muted red.

Toasty
I bought Toasty, it didn’t turn out the way I imagined but mostly it’s ok on me.
In the tube

mark lipclick toasty swatch

mark lipclick toasty swatch

I managed to take my own picture! This is in natural light and that’s the same colour that toasty becomes on my lips too.

Here’s how it looked on me

natural daylight, mark lipclick toasty swatch

natural daylight, mark lipclick toasty swatch

Mind you I’m a Caucasian gal with almost mauve lips (really, all I need is gloss) and orange/yellow undertones in my skin. Apparently I brought out the burnt orange in “toasty” more than the rosy mauve counterpart I was hoping for. Still, wearing lipstick makes me feel sophisticated and since the colour looks good on me even without being the colour I wanted, I’m going to keep it.

Mark. gloss gorgeous spice is a much better colour for me. I won’t be repurchasing Toasty.

The one’s I haven’t bought but did try the sample of

I find it most annoying to want a new lipstick and not have a bloody clue what the real colour of the thing is as compared to the blob of colour that’s printed on the glossy magalogue page.

I buy all my makeup from Mark. which is the “young people” part of Avon. I’m out of the “young” part but the application, colour and staying power are awesome from Mark. And the purses…!

Anywhoo, today we will be discussing the 11 lipclick lipsticks. I’ve tried them all and will tell you what I thought they looked like. That’s nice and all, but what you really need is a pair of lips wearing the colour or at the very least a swatch on someone’s arm. I don’t do that, it’s WAY too much trouble, so I’ll be redirecting you to other blogs where people have done that, copyrights respected. I am helpful and organized enough for that.

Lipclick
They are creamy, moisturizing (Vitamin E) and don’t rub half off during the day. And the container is magnetic so the lid clicks shut to the bottom and you don’t get an entire lipstick smushed to the everything in your purse.

The Canvas
My lips have some pigment to them, a blue-undertone kind of pink, so a clear gloss, like the Mark. juice gems in pomegranate is all I really need to look ok. Whatever your natural lip pigments are will affect what the lipstick looks like on you. My lips tend to exaggerate any orange tones in a lipstick. The more “rosy” or pigmented your lips are, the less certain shades (especially sheer, neutral or nude) will show up true to what you see in the tube.

What I think about the Lipclick colours

tutu=grape toastie=sweetie pie + brown.  I've ordered it whiney=purple marker coral fixation=pink orange sweetie pie-creamy pink. Nice if that's your thing. It's not my thing. gem-bit orangey brown hot & spicy-brown red, YES! baby luv-has shimmer in it,more like tutu swatch bare hug-orangey concealer for lips ruffle-beautiful light coffee bean brown. My favourite. cha cha=RED

tutu=grape
toastie=sweetie pie + brown. I’ve ordered it
whiney=purple marker
coral fixation=pink orange
sweetie pie-creamy pink. Nice if that’s your thing. It’s not my thing.
gem-bit orangey brown
hot & spicy-brown red, YES!
baby luv-has shimmer in it,more like tutu swatch
bare hug-orangey concealer for lips
ruffle-beautiful light coffee bean brown. My favourite.
cha cha=RED

What some other people have thought about the lipclicks and been so kind as to include lip pictures of them
http://www.iknowallthewords.com/2010/08/review-mark-lip-click.html She reviews Mark Lipclick Malt, Mark Lipclick Bear Hug, Mark Lipclick Sweetie Pie, Mark Lipclick Baby Luv and Mark Lipclick Coral Fixation

http://make-upbylaura1.blogspot.ca/2011/10/mark-lipclick-lipstick-and-lipshine.html The lighting on the swatches isn’t great but she does 8 of them: Mark Lipclick Bare Hug, Mark Lipclick Sweetie Pie, Mark Lipclick Baby Luv, Mark Lipclick Coral Fixation, Mark Lipclick Toasty, Mark Lipclick Malt, Mark Lipclick Ruffle, Mark Lipclick Whiney

http://www.dreafashionista.com/2011/09/fall-lipstick-love.html This is a picture of Mark Lipclick Whiney, go with the bottom one of just her lips. It really is just a grape purple saturation of your lips.

http://livingaftermidnite.blogspot.ca/2011/10/get-look-mildew-hot-spicy-o-my.html Mark Lipclick Hot and Spicy lipclick (Hot red)

http://livingaftermidnite.blogspot.ca/2013/04/mark-makeup-monday-exotic.html Malt lipclick

http://livingaftermidnite.blogspot.ca/2010/12/channeling-taylor-swift.html And finally, Mark Lipclick Ruffle. I had a Ruffle in the past and it was an awesome, impact, statement colour for me. I’m just getting too old to be wearing that stuff anymore.

Here’s another swatch list I found, the colours aren’t really true but it’ll give you a better idea of what they are.

-tutu is a bit lighter -sweetie pie bit darker -ruffle more like malt -malt more light orange -gem more burnt orange -toasty a bit lighter

-tutu is a bit lighter
-sweetie pie bit darker
-ruffle more like malt
-malt more light orange
-gem more burnt orange
-toasty a bit lighter


This one is better:

These are closer representations of the colours.

These are closer representations of the colours.

This one is a bit laughable:

Not very close at all.

Not very close at all.

Leave a Reply

