Knit Bible case free pattern

Knit Bible travel case

Knit Bible travel case (2)

Knit Bible travel case (3)Knit Bible travel case (2)Knit Bible travel case (3)

“Bible purse” as Hubby calls it but what does a man know about purses? It’s not a purse because it doesn’t have a strap and it’s too big to be a clutch but he doesn’t have the developed ear needed to hear about fashion.

When Hubby drove across the country to find our new home he took his Bible with him and the poor thing banged around in the car for the trip. Well, he assures me that the Bible did not take a beating, but to be on the safe side I decided to protect it for the next trip. I wanted it to look nice so I had to be a bit creative with the patterns I had.

I really like this wallet flap
http://www.classiceliteyarns.com/pdf/SundanceMakeUpBag.pdf

but could not algebraically enlarge the pattern. So I just enlarged the needles and yarn. I took 2 balls of my green yarn, the LAST 2 balls, and joined them together to make a double thickness yarn and cast on the 31 sts on 6 mm needles. Voilà, bigger. I knit the flap as indicated in the pattern, then went on to do the back in a Vine Lace pattern.

Vine Lace Pattern
Multiple of 6 sts + 6 selvage sts.

Since you have 31 sts and need 30 to continue in the Vine Lace Pattern, K 2 tog in the middle of the first row. Keep doing the sl 1, K 2 at the beginning and end of each row, includince the P rows.

Row 1: Yo, k2, k2 tog, k2. Rep to end
Row 2 and 4: P all sts
Row 3: K2, k2 tog, k2, yo. Rep to end

When I had knit this the length of the Bible, I switched to the Garter Check Stitch for the front. I changed from 3 selvage sts on each end to just 1.

Garter Check Stitch
Multiple of 14 sts (our 28 + 1 selvage st on each end)

Row 1, 2, 4, 5, 6, 8: P
Row 3: K7, P7. Rep to end
Row 7: P7, K7. Rep to end

Cast off when you have contained your Bible. Sew the edges together, add a button, and knit a small I-cord to put through the handle holes in the flap.

Leave a Reply

