Sew fabric origami box bag

We needed a bag that wasn’t a disintegrating plastic bag for all the chocolates we use as potty training rewards.  I saw some beautifully inspiring pictures here

http://pillowsalamode.wordpress.com/2012/07/07/origami-lotus-bag/

and made my own

Here’s how:

Put two pieces of fabric together, right sides facing.  I used my favourite kinds of inexpensive fabric, an old white sheet and a blue king size quilt cover from the thrift store for $3.50.  Cut a square (I did 16 inch X 16 inch and the finished bag was roughly 9 x 9), pin and sew them together.

Turn right side out and press the seams.  Place in front of you like a diamond and fold all the corners into the center.

Pinch the “sides” together and pin, only sewing up about halfway (I sewed up more because this is for storage, not display and I didn’t want chocolates spilling out).

If you want the bag to be more of a box, use thicker material or quilt batting to give it some sturdiness.  You can also add a drawstring like Pillows-a-la-mode did and I will do on the next bag for L’allowee’s (Barbie, that’s her name here) shoes.

2 responses

  1. So cute!!! And I like it with the seams on the outside! I turned mine inside out after stitching the four corners, but this gives it a nice texture and lets the lining fabric peek out a few more places. Very clever!!! 🙂 Oh, and thank you for the shout out! 🙂 And good luck with potty training! 🙂

    • I thought it looked more like origami with the lining fabric showing. I’m going to make a much smaller one for the Barbie shoes, I’ll probably put the seam inside for that one. Thanks to you for the idea of the lotus bag.

Leave a Reply

