Chocolate ice cream recipe, rich

I was having my standard “shall I or shan’t I” have chocolate ice cream this evening debate with myself: con- I have nightmares if I eat too close to bedtime, pro- who gives a shit?  I want chocolate!  Eat now and go to sleep later, voila, problem solved.  Yes I’m addicted, if I don’t eat it I can feel the withdrawal, but honestly, of all the addictions out there, homemade chocolate ice cream can’t be very high on the Damned List.

Upon opening the freezer I discovered to my chagrin that I am out of ice cream.  Thank God Friday was grocery day and we have cream for baking.  Here is my recipe, whittled down to the most efficient use of kitchen utensils (fewer dishes) and the least amount of calories possible while still being yummy. 

Do not confuse “least amount of calories” with “low fat, low sugar”.  This recipe is made with CREAM!

Put 1 cup cocoa powder, 1 capful vanilla extract (no sullying a measuring spoon), 1/3 cup white sugar, 1/4 cup packed brown sugar and 2 cups 35% cream.  Mix with a whisk.  This is the best and quickest way to dissolve the dry in the wet.

Add 1 and 3/4 cup 10% cream with the 1 cup you’ve been using for the cocoa, etc.  Eyeball 3/4 cup, it’ll be ok.  Add 1 cup milk.  Mix with whisk til blended, pour into ice cream maker and set timer for 24 minutes. 

For my tastes and appetites, this makes 6 servings, plus “licking the bowl” of whatever is left, frozen to the side of the ice cream maker, after thawing.  Technically this makes 7 servings.  If you want fewer calories, eat less!

3 responses

  1. I’ve been making and eating my own ice cream every night for 3.5 years. Chocolate is the flavor I eat 75% of the time. Every now and then I make chocolate free ice cream just to prove to myself that I am not addicted. But let’s be honest, I just ate chocolate cake for dinner tonight! Yikes.

Leave a Reply

